Extended Mind

I’m really enjoying the Extended Mind (Ed. Menary) and Supersizing the Mind (Clark) collections of essays. Thinking about object based learning for my workshops led me to this territory and it is remarkable how much it all resonates with my reading of James, Dewey and Mead and how it has influenced my thinking about creative practice in science being embedded in acting out experiments, communal practice and gestural conversation. For me it’s worth remembering, in light of Bergson, Feyerabend, Kaufman and co, that an alternative (in my mind a, potentially, broken or delusional) root is necessary for evolution.

Two nice videos on Youtube below

Leave a Reply

